Booking Through Thursday – Summer Reading (June 27)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday poses the following questions:

Inspired by a conversation with a coworker the other day:

It’s time for summer reading, so … today’s question? What’s the worst thing you ever did to your reading material? Sand in the bindings from the beach? Dropped into the pool? Covers smeared with sunscreen?

And, if you’ve never done actual summer-time damage … have you EVER damaged your book/magazine/paper? Dropped it in the bathtub? Used it to kill a bug? Spilled with coffee?

I have to say that I am obsessively careful with my books. The worst that has happened is to a C.S. Lewis book that I forgot was in my coat pocket for too long. It got a crushed and torn quite badly. Lesson learned and, thankfully, it is a book that is still widely available. I haven’t replaced it yet, but I intend to before it is too late.

Other than this unfortunate episode, the worst that has happened is the odd messy fingerprint from food or coffee spilled on the cover. I try my best to not do that now as well. I’m not much of a beach person, so sand has never been an issue.

I did have a friend at college who fell asleep reading one of his text books in the bath and ended up with a very soaked book. As I remember, it was one of the less boring books that we had been assigned, so I don’t think it was the book itself that caused him to fall asleep!