Booking Through Thursday – Dream Cast (June 13)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following questions:

And while we’re thinking about books converted to tv/movies. Do you ever sit and wonder who could be cast as your favorite characters? (Please feel free to give examples!)

What actors do you think have done particularly excellent jobs with some of your favorite characters?

I’m not a big fan of many of the recent book to big (or small) screen conversions. I am a fairly big movie fan, but I cringe at the thought of some of my favourite book characters being portrayed on the big screen. I have so far managed to avoid seeing The Hobbit, as I’m still quite angry at what Peter Jackson did to The Lord of the Rings books.

Having said that, I quite enjoyed the adaptation of The Hunger Games and I also thought that Hugo was a decent adaptation of The Invention of Hugo Cabret. One actor I thought portrayed one of my favourite book characters well is Russell Crowe in his playing of Jack Aubrey in  Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World, but that was a movie I saw long before I started reading the books.