The Friday 56

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

My selection this week is:

What frustrated and saddened me most was the feeling that I was doing nothing with my gift. If I’d been a prodigy baseball player, I never would have been stuck playing in a league where I could run, throw, and hit circles around the other players. Surely my talent would have been noticed and I would have been moved up to a league with better players, older players. Why couldn’t my parents do that with me academically, helping me make the most of my gifts, instead of allowing me to spend most of my school career sitting around and waiting for the other kids to catch up?

From Mozart and the Whale: an Asperger’s Love Story by Jerry and Mary Newport, describes as ‘a riveting and inspiring memoir about a couple who fell in love, fell apart, and finally overcame the pressures of fame, family, and Asperger’s syndrome to build a life together’. I read this a few years ago and it is well worth reading – at times funny, sometimes sad, insightful, but very entertaining. There’s also a movie which is worth checking out.

8 thoughts on “The Friday 56

    • What is great about the book is that it is written by the couple themselves. I really need to read it again soon. Thanks for visiting and for hosting the 56.

  1. this sounds like quite a profound read. i’m amazed that it was written by the couple themselves. i’ll be looking out for this in the library and will check out the movie too. thanks for sharing!

    (btw, i suddenly felt like i was lost because you’d changed your template – i like it though, very spring-y 🙂 happy easter!)

    • Thanks, it is worth the read. My family told me the previous template was too depressing! Have a great easter!

Leave a comment