The Friday 56 (March 30)

The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

My selection this week is:

If the eggs survive ants, woodpeckers, and mice – and most do – then you get the fun of seeing the new mantises hatch, and the smug feeling of knowing, all summer long, that they’re out there in your garden devouring gruesome numbers of fellow insects all nice and organically. When a mantis has crunched up the last shred of its victim, it cleans its smooth green face like a cat.

From the wonderful Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard.

5 thoughts on “The Friday 56 (March 30)

    • Was hoping spring had finally arrived, but it snowed here last night. I wasn’t here, but it also snowed where I was as well, which was Sudbury where my daughter was taking part in a swim meet. Thankfully it’s all gone now!

    • It’s a few years since I read this, but I really like it. I should read it again soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment