Booking Through Thursday (Mar 22)

I haven’t done one of these for about a month and thought it was about time I did again. Today Booking Through Thursday asks the following questions:

Ever read a book you thought you could have written better yourself?

When I first read this question I thought that it was an easy one to answer, but on reflection it’s really quite a difficult one!

I’ve never written a book, so it would probably be very presumptuous of me to think I could do a better job than someone who has already been published. There are some books that have gone down paths I wouldn’t have chosen to go down, but whether I could have done better or not is neither here nor there. I’ve read a lot of books that I didn’t enjoy because of this, as well as other reasons, but I hesitate to call them bad books. Just because I don’t like a book doesn’t make it a bad book. It is just something I don’t like. Sometimes I think something has been badly written and I wish it had been written better grammatically, but I get very pedantic about such things.

Maybe if I ever get around to getting something written and published I’ll be able to look at this question from a different perspective. It’s a great question, though, in the way it got me thinking.

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday (Mar 22)

  1. I agree. We all have different likes and dislikes in what we read. I think I could change some things about books that I don’t like and make it better for me, but don’t know if it would be better for others.
    Here’s My BTT

  2. I agree, when it comes to books that I just don’t like much. But, some books have glaring plot holes and so on…then I don’t want to write it myself, but I could have done a better job than their editor did.

Leave a comment