Colin Jackson (1946-2015)

I just read the sad news today that one of my Rangers heroes growing up, Colin Jackson, passed away yesterday. Growing up in Orkney, I didn’t get to many Rangers games. However, one that I did get to was the Scottish League Cup final on 31 March 1979, when we beat Aberdeen 2-1. The winning goal came in injury time and was headed in by Jackson. We came from behind as well and I still remember the goal well. An added bonus to being at the final was that on the Monday, a couple of days after the final, my parents had organised for us to have a tour of Ibrox, which finished off with us watching the players train across the road from the stadium. I got to meet most of the player and had them sign my programme from the final. It was probably the highlight of our holiday. I think the programme is still in a box at my parents house.

Here’s the highlights of that Cup Final. The quality isn’t the best, but it’s still worth watching:

Leave a Reply

