Booking Through Thursday – Unread (April 16)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday poses the following question:

What proportion of the books you own are unread?

Between my physical books and e-books I probably own at least 1,700 books. Keeping this figure in mind, there are probably about half of them that I haven’t fully read. There are some that may never get read from cover to cover, but those are ones that I have for reference, such as commentaries, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. For some of my favourite authors or writers I like to buy everything they have written, with the hope that some day I may get round to reading them. I read in excess of 80 books a year, but I also buy a fair number, so there are some books that I may never get around to reading. I’m okay with that, but I’m not sure how my wife feels about it! As far as I’m concerned, there are worse things I could be spending money on 🙂

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Unread (April 16)

  1. Wow! That is a lot of owned books! If I owned that many, I probably would not have read half of them, either. My library is pretty small these days, so I can keep the unread proportion low.

    • I probably should have added that I bought a lot of those books in second-hand stores, plus people often give me them as gifts. That number doesn’t include the books the rest of the family own, but we don’t really do TV, so books really are our thing. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

