Musing Mondays (April 6)

musingmondays51Musing Mondays is a weekly meme, hosted by Jenn at A Daily Rhythm, that asks you to choose one of the following prompts to answer:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What was your favorite book as a child?

This week I’ll answer the first one, plus the random question, as my answers are kind of connected to each other:

tolkien and the great warI’m currently reading Tolkien and the Great War by John Garth. I’m not that far into it yet, but so far it is quite fascinating. It’s not often that one gets the opportunity to read about Tolkien’s early years in great depth, but that is what this book does. It mentions him being a keen rugby player, which is something I’d never thought about before, as often a lot of the portrayals of him are of later in his life, when he was past his rugby playing days. I’m looking forward to getting more of it read this week, although I realize that it will get more harrowing as I get into his experiences of World War I.

the hobbitMy favourite book as a child was The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. It still is my favourite book, something I’ve mentioned here on quite a few occasions before. I try to read it at least once every two to three years. Once I read that famous opening – ‘In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit’ – I’m lost for a while. I still haven’t watched any of the recent movie adaptations and I’m not sure that I will. I’m satisfied with staying with the book, although my son keeps asking me to watch them with him. Maybe some day I will, but that doesn’t mean I have to like them!

 

3 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (April 6)

  1. I’ve seen the first installment of the movies and I have to admit it feels like it’s expanded a bit too much. I am a huge Dr Who fan and loved to see Sylvester McCoy get work…but his character’s subplot seems like it was something that should be added onto the extended DVD version rather than the actual theatrical release.

    I feel like the studio and Peter Jackson stretched a good duology into a trilogy. And I’ve not seen the last two installments yet!

    • My main concern is with the liberties Peter Jackson took with The Lord of the Rings trilogy. They weren’t bad movies. In fact, they were visually spectacular. However, he really messed up Tolkien’s vision for the story and also missed out too many important things, as well as changing some of the characters too much. I really like The Hobbit too much to be disappointed like that again. Maybe I need to see the movies to put my mind to rest. Thanks for stopping by.

      • I can see what you’re saying as a fan of the original works. I like the books, but I feel that what Jackson did with the original trilogy worked well enough to make them accessible and not run 7 hours each.

        You may feel the way about these movies that I do about the Abrams-verse Trek reboots. I like them and I’ve seen them but I still prefer the original source material. As I told someone after seeing Into Darkness — if you have no investment in classic Trek and the characters, odds are you may love it. If you loved the original series, you may not love it as much. But then again, if they made movies only to appeal to what I want, they wouldn’t make any $$$.

Leave a Reply

