Lent 2015 – Day 35

IMG_2450Today we enter Holy Week, the last week of Lent leading up to Easter. The above two books will be my companions on the rest of the journey. The one on the left, The Last Eyewitness: The Final Week, is one I read most years now in the week leading up to Easter. It’s a retelling of the last week of Jesus’ life on earth, taken mainly from John’s gospel, but with excerpts from other books added, along with some commentary. I find it quite helpful and it is one worth checking out if you are looking for something a little different. The other is The Little Book of Lent, which Pamela and I have been reading each day for the past few weeks. It has also been very helpful.

I’m hoping to make a start on writing mt Stations of the Cross tomorrow and I’ll hopefully have that done before the end of the week.

Coffee is almost a distant memory now, but I am looking forward to having a cup when I get up on Sunday morning. One thing for sure, I won’t be going back to anywhere near the 6 plus cups of coffee per day that I usually drink. I am feeling good for not drinking so much and I’ve been told I’m less irritable, so I’ll probably have no more than two cups a day from now on (after this week, that is).

Praying the Daily Office is still a bit of a hit or miss for me, but I’m not going to beat myself up over it. I just need a little more focus, along with some consistency.

I’ll post another update after the weekend, but I’m glad I’ve managed to make it this far in good shape.

Leave a Reply

