Lent 2015 – Day 11

Tonight I finished reading The Making of an Ordinary Saint: My Journey from Frustration to Joy with the Spiritual Disciplines by Nathan Foster. Nathan is the son of Richard Foster, who is well-known for his classic Celebration of Discipline. Nathan’s book is his story of his own personal journey, sharing many of his struggles along the way, as well as many joyful moments. It is aptly described on the back cover as ‘a book of honesty and hope’. It’s well worth the read and it’s one I’m sure I’ll return to in the future, as I struggle on my own journey with the disciplines.

There are many things I would love to share from the book, but I’d rather you read it yourself. Having said that, there are a couple of quotes I’d like to share, which are quotes that Nathan shared:

This one is from Abbot John Chapman:

Pray as you can, not as you can’t.

And this is from  J. Brent Bill:

Words that linger in our hearts are often more helpful than those that pass quickly through our brains.

Hopefully you’ll get the chance to check out this book. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

