Lent 2015 – Day 2

Today has been one of those days where things didn’t quite end up where I expected them to. Although I did get some things achieved, I didn’t get everything done that I wanted. Life is like that sometimes, but you learn to deal with it. One annoying thing is that I have had a dull kind of headache for most of the day. I’m putting it down to my lack of coffee, along with a quite sleepless night last night. It should be gone by tomorrow after a good night’s sleep.

One of the things I listed yesterday was that I wanted to pray the Daily Office. In doing this, I am not trying to complicate my prayer life, or even regiment it, but rather I’m hoping that it will simplify things for me and create a sense of rhythm in my life. Prayer isn’t supposed to be complicated and should really flow naturally. Hopefully I’m moving in the right direction

One of the books I got for Christmas was Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers by Anne Lamott. It’s a great little read and the author writes about how prayer in her life pretty much comes down to the three words in the title of the book. In the introduction she writes the following:

I do not know much about God and prayer, but I have come to believe, over the last twenty-five years, that there’s something to be said about keeping prayer simple.

Help. Thanks. Wow.

I like that and it encourages me as I move forward through this season of Lent. I may just have to read this book again, even though I just read it after Christmas. If nothing else, it will at least serve as a refresher and a reminder about how simple, but profound, prayer can be.

Leave a Reply

