Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe (Jan2)

For my first Friday meme combo of 2015 I have chosen one of the books I got for Christmas – The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe by Romain Puertolas. It was the title of this book that intrigued me so much that I put it on my Christmas wishlist. Thankfully, I received it and it looks like it should be a good one. GoodReads has the following description:

extraordinary journey of the fakirFor readers of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared, a funny, charming, feel-good story about a fake fakir from India who arrives in France to shop at IKEA and unwittingly embarks on a European tour like no other.
Meet Ajatashatru Oghash Rathod. One day a fakir leaves his small village in India and lands in Paris. A professional con artist, the fakir is on a pilgrimage to IKEA, where he intends to obtain an object he covets above all others: a brand-new bed of nails. Without adequate euros in the pockets of his silk trousers, the fakir is all the same confident that his counterfeit 100-Euro note (printed on one side only) and his usual bag of tricks will suffice. But when a swindled cab driver seeks his murderous revenge, the fakir accidentally embarks on a European tour, fatefully beginning in the wardrobe of the iconic Swedish retailer.
As his journey progresses in the most unpredictable of ways, the fakir finds unlikely friends in even unlikelier places. To his surprise–and to a Bollywood beat–the stirrings of love well up in the heart of our turbaned hero, even as his adventures lead to profound and moving questions of the perils of emigration and the universal desire to seek a better life in an often dangerous world.
The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe [pause for breath] is a hilarious tale that evokes the manic energy of a Marx Brothers romp and calls to mind the incisive social commentary of Candide. Pull up your Poang chair and take an unforgettable tour of Europe propelled by laughter, love and redemption. (Meatballs not included, but highly recommended.)

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe:

The first word spoken by the Indian man Ajatashatru Oghash Rathod upon his arrival in France was, oddly enough, a Swedish word.

Ikea.

With this fairly odd beginning, I think that I’m going to enjoy this one!

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe:

They were working late because they had to install a new collection.

Julio Sympa, who was six foot six and had climbed Mont Blanc four times, stopping at the top each time to read Why I Am So Cold by Josette Camus before going back down eight hundred and fifty-three pages later, paused in front of the ‘American Teenager’ bedroom and pointed in several directions before continuing on his way.

I’m liking the sound of this one, so it’ll be my next read after I’ve finished my current one. Two days into the New Year and I’m facing my usual problem – too many books and not enough time to read them all! It’s a good problem to have and I’ll just have to make the best of it.

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe (Jan2)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s