Booking Through Thursday – 2014 (Jan 1)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday poses the following questions:

What was your favorite book (or books) for 2014? What reading really caught your attention? Sparked your interest? Changed your world? Made you laugh?

These are great questions to start the new year with. I read 80 books last year and enjoyed most of them, althouh there were some that I enjoyed more than others.

My favourite read would probably have to be The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden by Jonas Jonasson. It was well written and moved along well, with believable characters. It was also very funny and not predictable. I’m waiting in anticipation of his next book, but I have no idea when it will be coming out.

I also read a number of books on spiritual formation and prayer, most of which I found to be very helpful. The ones I enjoyed the most were In the Name of Jesus by Henri J.M. Nouwen and Opening to God: Lectio Divina and Life as Prayer by David G. Benner.

Quite a number of the books I read were on the recommendation of family, friends and acquaintances. If I can I will usually try something that is recommended to me, although I don’t always have the time. There were also a copuple of books that were recommended to me that I just could not finish, no matter how hard I tried.

All in all, 2014 was a good reading year for me. I would have liked to have read a few more books, but I was still pretty happy to get through 80 in the end.

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – 2014 (Jan 1)

  1. I think the most significant read was Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore

Leave a Reply

