Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Mostly Harmless (Oct 10)

My choice of book this week for my Friday meme combo is Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams. I was going through a box of my books tonight and came across this one, realising that I haven’t read it yet. As Sci-Fi Month is coming in a few weeks time I thought it might be time to give this one a read. The front cover describes it as: ‘The fifth book in the increasingly inaccurately named Hitch Hikers Guide to the Galaxy trilogy.’ The following brief description is found at GoodReads:

mostly harmlessArthur Dent hadn’t had a day as bad as this since the Earth had been blown up.

Depressed and alone, Arthur finally settles on the small planet Lamuella and becomes a sandwich maker. Looking forward to a quiet life, his plans are thrown awry by the unexpected arrival of his daughter.

There’s nothing worse than a frustrated teenager with a copy of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy in their hands. When she runs away – Arthur goes after her determined to save her from the horrors of the universe.

After all – he’s encountered most of them before…

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Mostly Harmless:

The history of the Galaxy has got a little muddled, for a number of reasons: partly because those who are trying to keep track of it have got a little muddled, but also because some very muddling things have been happening anyway.

I like this beginning and I know I am going to enjoy this one as much as I enjoyed the other books in the series.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Mostly Harmless:

As Arthur had left their offices he found he was trembling slightly. Not only had he lost Fenchurch in the most complete and utter way possible, but he felt that the more time he spent away out in the Galaxy the more it seemed that the number of things he didn’t know anything about actually increased.

Hopefully I’ll get around to reading this soon. I can’t believe that I actually had forgotten that I picked up this book a while ago. I know that I’ll like it, so I need to get it read.

One thought on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Mostly Harmless (Oct 10)

  1. I had no idea there were more than The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy… although I haven’t read that one. I have seen the film though. Totally not the same thing I’m sure….
    Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

