Scottish Reading

With only four days left until the big independence vote in Scotland I can only watch it all unfold from afar. It seems that it is still too close to call and I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not. Even though I am now a Canadian, I am still proud of the fact that I am also Scottish by birth. If I still lived there I know which way I would vote, but I’m not saying that here as I don’t want to lose any friendships over it.

Instead of dwelling on a vote I cannot take part in I started thinking about some of my favourite Scottish books. Scotland has produced a lot of great writers and some of my favourite reads are by Scottish writers or are at least Scottish themed. So here is a shortlist of some of my favourite Scottish reads to take our minds off of the divisiveness of the referendum:

IMG_1177

  1. Treasure Island – Robert Louis Stevenson
  2. The Works of Robert Burns – Robert Burns
  3. Greenvoe – George Mackay Brown
  4. How the Scots Invented the Modern World – Arthur Herman
  5. Stenwick Days – R.T. Johnston
  6. How the Scots Invented Canada – Ken McGoogan

It could have been a different and bigger list, but these are some of the ones I’ve enjoyed the most that first came to mind. What are your favourite Scottish-themed reads? Share a comment or two if you feel like it.

2 thoughts on “Scottish Reading

  1. Good list. Greenvoe is one of my favourite reads; I love the small town gossipy feel and the ominous threat of industry and modernisation that Brown captures in his rich, poetic writing.
    I’d recommend Peter May’s Lewis trilogy; which have a beautiful sense of place about them, in particular Lewis Man, where the mystery at the centre of the novel hinges around a character with dementia.
    My reading list at the moment contains the classic Whisky Galore by Compton Mackenzie and Field Notes from a Hidden City by Esther Woolfson, a nature diary of Aberdeen.

Leave a Reply

