Booking Through Thursday – School Discoveries (Sept 4)

btt2It has been a while since I took part in this weekly book meme, but I think it’s time I started again. This week Booking Through Thursday poses the following questions:

We all had to read lots of different things in school—some of which we liked, some of which we didn’t. Are there any authors that you’ve grown to love because you were introduced to them in your English Lit class? Or—the contrary. Are there any you hate because you were forced to read them? Did you ever go back to try them again?

I think that my love of reading was heavily influenced by the books I was given to read at school. My favourite book of all time, Tolkien’s The Hobbit, was one I first read at school, round about the time I was 9 or 10. Another author I got to read a lot of about the same time was Roald Dahl, and I remember getting my first copy of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory at that time as well. The first book review I can remember having to do was for Fattypuffs and Thinifers by Andre Maurois. I managed to get a copy of this book a couple of years ago and rediscovered why I had enjoyed it as an eight year old.

The books I remember most from high school are George Orwell’s 1984 and Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea. They are both books that I revisit on a fairly regular basis. Although there may have been some books that I didn’t really enjoy from school, I can’t name any of them. Maybe I’ve blanked them from my memory. I know that I wasn’t big on poetry at school, but that is something that has gradually changed over the years.

I am really grateful for the many teachers who instilled a love of reading in me and, of course, for my parents who never had a problem keeping me supplied with plenty of books to read. Because of this, I rarely turn down my children’s requests for books, unless I know I can get them a better deal somewhere else!

4 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – School Discoveries (Sept 4)

Leave a Reply

