Bookmark Monday – Orkney (Sept 1)

bookmark-mondayBookmark Monday is a weekly meme hosted by Aloi from guiltless reading. Take a picture of one of your favourite bookmarks, post it on your blog, and head over to guiltless reading to share a link to your post. I haven’t taken part in Bookmark Monday for almost two months, but I hope to get back to it regularly again now.

This week I’m sharing a couple of bookmarks I bought on our recent visit to Orkney. It’s where I grew up, but it is almost 20 years since I left. The bookmarks are from Skara Brae and Skaill House, two places that we visited on our trip. Skara Brae is a phenomenal place, but it’s one of the many things I took for granted growing up there. The magazine the bookmarks are sitting on is the latest issue of National Geographic, which has a feature on the many ancient Orkney sites. The page it is open to is a picture of one of the Skara Brae houses. Incidentally, my dad has a part-time job as a tour guide at Skaill House, which he enjoys as part of his retirement.

IMG_1144

2 thoughts on “Bookmark Monday – Orkney (Sept 1)

  1. How gorgeous! I love that you found some souvenirs that have special meaning to you. It makes these places seem closer somehow. I know what you mean about taking things for granted — one really needs to be pulled out of a place and distanced from it to better appreciate it. Sounds like you had a wonderful trip, btw.

    • It was a great trip, and it was nice being able to show the sights to my children now as they are old enough to appreciate them more now. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

