Books About Town

Peter Pan - J.M. Barrie

Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie

During our recent trip we spent a few days visiting family in Kent, so we took the opportunity to go up to London a couple of times. Before leaving here we had heard about Books About Town, which is a book-related event happening all over London this summer. This is a series of 50 sculpted benches in the shapes of famous and popular books, decorated by famous and local artists, placed around the city for the public to enjoy. At the end of summer 2014, all the benches will be auctioned at an exclusive event in the Southbank Centre to raise funds for the National Literacy Trust’s vital work to raise literacy levels in the UK.

We decided we would try and see as many of them as we could in the limited time that we had. In the end we saw 9 of them. It would have been 10, but one of them was away for repairs. If we’d had more time I would have really liked to have seen the Sherlock Holmes, C.S. Lewis, and Douglas Adams benches, but we were happy to have been able to see the ones that we managed to see.

If you want to see more of them, check out my Flickr album.

4 thoughts on “Books About Town

  1. I posted about this project last month. I’m so jealous, I wish I could be in London before the bookbenches are auctioned off. The Guardian is sponsoring 51st bookbench (readers’s pick), which is Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere. I’ve not read anything about this bookbench ever since the news was announced. I wonder if you know about it. Will check your photo album.

    ps: I used to study in Canterbury. I miss Canterbury so much! 😉

    • Apparently, the Gaiman bench was supposed robe installed by the end of August, but I don’t know if that has happened or not yet. I would’ve liked to have seen more of the benches, but it was only a quick visit for us.

Leave a Reply

