25 Years of Seinfeld

seinfeldApparently today is the 25th anniversary of the first time that Seinfeld appeared on TV. I’m a big fan of Seinfeld and have all nine seasons on DVD. Ironically I never started watching it until we moved to Saskatchewan in July 1998, which was almost two months after the final show aired. We only had two channels and it aired every night at 10pm on one of these channels. I started watching it out of curiosity and it wasn’t long before I was hooked!

Lots of catchphrases from the show have crept into everyday use and I’m sometimes surprised by how many of them I hear on a fairly regular basis. “No soup for you!” is probably the one that is heard most often. One that I tend to use a lot is “It’s a Festivus miracle!”

It would be difficult for me to name a favourite episode as there are too many good ones to choose from. Apart from the four main characters, my favourite character would have to be Frank Costanza (played by Jerry Stiller). I love his eccentricity and the fact that he invented Festivus.

I won’t try and choose a favourite episode, but instead here are five of my favourite moments. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do:

Leave a Reply

