New Month, New Design, New Outlook

For a number of reasons, I haven’t been posting much here over the past few weeks. I was also a bit tired of the way it looked, so I’ve uploaded a different theme to give things a fresher look and to hopefully give me some inspiration to start posting again.

The past few weeks have been a bit of a roller-coaster ride. We were away at a Salvation Army Congress last month, which turned out to be much better than I thought it would be. We met a lot of friends we hadn’t seen for a while, the meetings were pretty good overall, and the speakers were all great, giving us plenty to think about as we returned to our regular lives and routines. Following this, however, we had a very challenging week where we had to make a few tough decisions. There were also some negative things going on that we really had no control over. Fortunately we are going on vacation soon, with a family wedding to look forward to, and this will give us a chance to recharge our batteries and be ready to get on with things again in the fall.

We are already halfway through the year. So far 2014 has been a fairly decent year. There are always challenges that come your way, especially in our line of work, but nothing has been insurmountable so far. I’ve made a number of positive lifestyle changes and have tried to approach things with a new outlook to life. One of the most positive things that is part of this is that I have lost almost 30 pounds so far this year and am feeling really good for this. I’d like to lose about another 20 before the end of the year, which will bring me close to what is my ideal weight. I’ve also tried to change some of my habits, especially endeavouring to have a more optimistic outlook on life than I had previously had. This has helped in my approach to some of the previously mentioned challenges we have had to face.

As we enter our fourteenth year of being in Elliot Lake there are a number of things we have to consider. There are still a number of things we have to work on at Hope. There will always be fresh challenges to face there. We also have to think about our family, especially now that we have two teenagers living in our household. This place has been good for us over the past thirteen years. Ultimately the length of time we have here is not up to us and we remain open to whatever comes our way as far as appointments go. Until we are told otherwise, we remain committed to being here and that is fine with us. We knew what to expect when we signed up for this.

Hopefully the new design, along with my new outlook on life, will inspire me to get back to posting here more frequently again. I have number of book reviews and photo assignments to catch up on, so that should get me going again. If you are inclined to pray, then think of us in your prayers as we try to sort through a few issues here. Also a few prayers for us to have a restful and enjoyable vacation would be pretty welcome. If you are not the praying kind, then a few thoughts or words of encouragement would be equally welcome.

2 thoughts on “New Month, New Design, New Outlook

  1. Thanks. It has been a little hectic, but I’ve still managed to fit in most of the World Cup games so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

