Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Sense of the Call (June 13)

Three or fousense of the callr years ago I had the opportunity to visit the Eerdmans warehouse/bookstore in Grand Rapids, Michigan. They had some really good books, at some really affordable prices, so I came away with quite  a large haul. I read a few of them immediately, but others have been sitting in the ever-growing TBR pile for too long.

A couple of weeks ago I was going through my books and discovered a few of these books from Eerdmans that I really want to take the time to read. One of them, that I just started reading, is The Sense of the Call: A Sabbath Way of Life for Those Who Serve God, the Church, and the World by Marva Dawn. I’m enjoying and being challenged by it so far, and it is my choice of book for this week’s Friday meme combo.

The following brief description is found at GoodReads:

In a culture that is fixated on sex, violence, and wealth, Dawn calls us to the counterintuitive values of the gospel: resting in prayer; saying no to busyness; enjoying the body; and embracing the cost of discipleship. How to live your life upside down, so others can see the world aright.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of The Sense of the Call:

Why is it SO HARD to serve God these days? Everywhere I go, pastors and lay people tell me how discouraged they are.

An interesting place to begin, and words that I can readily identify with. I’m looking forward to getting through this book and seeing what she has to say.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of The Sense of the Call:

One thing that seems endemic to those who devote their entire lives to serving God, the Church, and the world is that a high proportion of them do not know very well how to celebrate. We take our work and ourselves much too seriously.

In contrast, Jesus was known as a party man.

I like this and had a laugh to myself over it. If this is true, then what happened in the 2,000 years or so after Jesus? I haven’t got to this point of the book yet, but I am intrigued and look forward to getting there. After this book I’m looking forward to getting through a few more of the Eerdmans’ books, as well as much more of my TBR pile!

7 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – The Sense of the Call (June 13)

  1. You had me with the beginning. It’s so true. All that stuff, sex, money, etc…. has taken over and God took a back-burner somewhere. Not that I don’t love those sinful things like everyone else, but I know what the most important things in life are.

    🙂

    Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

