Top Ten Tuesday – Best Books of 2014 So Far (June 10)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far This Year’. I have read 40 books so far this year, but it was difficult to pick 10 favourites, as I’ve enjoyed most of them. Here are the 10 I narrowed it down to (it’ll be interesting to see how many of them make the top 10 at the end of the year:

ocean at the end of the laneThe Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman. I had been looking forward to this one ever since I heard it was coming out. I wasn’t disappointed, but I realise that there are so many great Gaiman books that I haven’t read yet – too many books and not enough time.

shiningThe Shining – Stephen King. This was a reread of one of my favourite Stephen King books. It had been a while since I read it and I wanted to read it again before reading the sequel, Doctor Sleep.

cats pajamasThe Cat’s Pajamas – Ray Bradbury. This is a great collection of Bradbury short stories. My favourites were probably Hail to the Chief and A Careful Man Dies, although they were all great stories. I’m slowly working my way through my Bradbury collection.

sacred wayThe Sacred Way: Spiritual Practices for Everyday Life – Tony Jones. This was also a reread. This is one of my favourite books on spiritual practices, probably because it is so practical. It has helped me a lot over the past few years and I return to it regularly.

first phone call from heaven smallThe First Phone Call from Heaven – Mitch Albom. Mitch Albom has a way with words and telling stories that I really enjoy and appreciate. I’ve read most of his books now and none of them have really disappointed me.

illumined heart smallThe Illumined Heart: Capture the Vibrant Faith of Ancient Christians – Frederica Mathewes-Green. I really wasn’t sure how much I would like this one, because I’d never read anything by Mathewes-Green before. It’s a fairly small book, but was well worth the read, with very few wasted words. It is also a very practical book and will be one that I’ll return to a few times in the future for sure.

allegiantAllegiant – Veronica Roth. I actually read the whole series this year. I read Divergent just in case I had the opportunity to see the movie. I liked it so much that I knew I’d have to finish the series. I know that a lot of people were upset at how the series ended, but I thought that any other ending would not have been true to the characters or the story. I still haven’t seen the movie yet, but I will eventually.

other voices smallOther Voices: Exploring the Contemplative in Salvationist Spirituality – Christine Faragher. I received this book as a gift, with the intent that it would give me some encouragement. I tend to be more contemplative in nature and have at times wondered where that leaves me in regards to the organisation that I am a part of. This book helped me to discover that I fit in as much as anyone else and that I can be comfortable with being the person that I am.

girl who saved the king of sweden smallThe Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden – Jonas Jonasson. This is probably my favourite read so far this year. I really enjoyed Jonasson’s The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared last year and this one is every bit as good as that one. I can’t wait for whatever he comes up with next.

jesus a theographyJesus: A Theography – Leonard Sweet and Frank Viola. This is a book that took me a while to get through, but it was well worth it. I usually enjoy reading both of these authors and was not disappointed with this one. It is quite heavy at times, but is worth persevering with.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Best Books of 2014 So Far (June 10)

  1. I’m not surprised to see Ocean .. in your list. I just finished it and am in awe of Gaiman. I’m also not surprised you’ve got Bradbury in here too (and I still havent read any of his work!) The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden looks like a good read — why is is your favourite?

    • Both of Jonasson’s books are fiction, but he weaves actual events into the plots and makes the main characters part of those events. It’s fun seeing how everything comes together in the end. They are great reads and lots of fun. The plot in The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden involves a girl who grows up in one of the South African shantytowns during the time of apartheid, a drunken nuclear scientist, a couple of Israeli secret agents, two Swedish brothers who are twins with the same first name, as well as the actual King of Sweden. It really is worth checking out.

Leave a Reply

