Top Ten Tuesday – Auto-Buy Authors (May 27)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

I haven’t done a top ten for a while, probably not since last year, so I thought I’d check out what the topic is for this week. I dicovered that is is a freebie, meaning that I can choose the topic myself. I decided to go with ‘Top Ten Auto-Buy Authors’. These are authors that I pretty much automatically buy as soon as their latest book comes out. So, in no particular order, here they are:

1. Rob Bell – I’ve pretty much read everything he has written and always look forward to his latest offering. His first book, Velvet Elvis, is one of my all-time favourites.

2. Frank Viola – I just got his latest book, Jesus Now, and have already read a fair chunk of it.

3. Neil Gaiman – although I still have plenty of his books to read, I now try to get his latest book as quickly as I can.

4. Philip Yancey – I have read most of his books, with What’s So Amazing About Grace? being one of my favourites.

5. Daniel H. Wilson – Robogenesis, his follow-up to Robopocalypse is coming out very soon and I know I’ll have to buy it right away.

6. Mitch Albom – there’s just something about his books that I really like and I’m not usually disappointed, so this puts him on my auto-buy list.

7. Jonas Jonasson – I realize that he has only released a couple of books in English so far, but I enjoyed them so much that whenever his next book comes out I’ll have to get it right away.

The last three authors on my list are all dead, but whenever I see a book by them that I don’t have or something about them, then I have to buy it. I think this qualifies them to be included in this list:

8. J.R.R. Tolkien – The Hobbit is my favourite book of all-time, so I am always on the lookout for books about Tolkien or books by him that I don’t already have. I have read The Hobbit so many times that my original copy is falling apart, so I’m always on the lookout for versions I don’t have and I also just bought a very neat pocket addition that will be handy for taking on my travels.

9. C.S. Lewis – I pretty much have everything he wrote, but I still find interesting editions that I like or don’t have, plus there are always new books coming out about him.

10. Ray Bradbury – his Fahrenheit 451 is in my top ten favourites list. Although I still have some of his books unread on my shelf, he was such a prolific writer that I find something of his I don’t have from time to time that I am compelled to buy it.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Auto-Buy Authors (May 27)

  1. that’s great stuff, i love it!!! hi im a newbie so it will mean alot if you checked out my blog- i follow back. kisses!

  2. The Hobbit is also my favourite book, but I haven’t really dug into anything else Tolkien related, apart from The Lord of the Rings of course. No biographies yet and I’m too scared to touch The Silmarillion. Maybe someday.

Leave a Reply

