Thursday Quotables – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (May 22)

quotation-marks4Thursday quotables is hosted by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies. To take part Lisa shares the following:

If you’d like to participate, it’s really simple:

  • Write a Thursday Quotables post on your blog. Try to pick something from whatever you’re reading now. And please be sure to include a link back to Bookshelf Fantasies in your post (http://www.bookshelffantasies.com), if you’d be so kind!
  • Comment on this post with the link to your own Thursday Quotables post. Or… have a quote to share but not a blog post? Leave your quote in the comments!
  • Have fun!

Today is the 155th anniversary of the birth of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who is most famous for being the creator of Sherlock Holmes. Although I haven’t read any of his stories for a while, I always enjoy it when I do. I have my Kobo loaded up with most of them, so hopefully this summer I’ll read a few when I’m travelling. So, in remembrance of his birthday, here are a few of my favourite quotes:

220px-Conan_doyle“The love of books is among the choicest gifts of the gods.”

“How often have I said to you that when you have eliminated the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth…”

“…it is only when a man goes out into the world with the thought that there are heroisms all round him, and with the desire all alive in his heart to follow any which may come within sight of him, that he breaks away… from the life he knows, and ventures forth into the wonderful mystic twilight land where lie the great adventures and the great rewards.”

“My mind rebels at stagnation. Give me problems, give me work…I abhor the dull routine of existence. I crave for mental exaltation.”

“Life is infinitely stranger than anything which the mind of man could invent.”

One thought on “Thursday Quotables – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (May 22)

  1. I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never actually read Sherlock Holmes — although I did pick up a collection at our last library sale, so I’m making progress! These are wonderful quotes.

Leave a Reply

