Thursday Quotables – Farley Mowat (May 8)

quotation-marks4Thursday quotables is hosted by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies. To take part Lisa shares the following:

If you’d like to participate, it’s really simple:

  • Write a Thursday Quotables post on your blog. Try to pick something from whatever you’re reading now. And please be sure to include a link back to Bookshelf Fantasies in your post (http://www.bookshelffantasies.com), if you’d be so kind!
  • Comment on this post with the link to your own Thursday Quotables post. Or… have a quote to share but not a blog post? Leave your quote in the comments!
  • Have fun!

It was sad to hear of the passing earlier this week of Farley Mowat at the age of 92. He was probably my favourite Canadian writer and will be sorely missed by many as a voice worth listening to. I have read a number of his books, but still have quite a few of his waiting on my shelf to be read. Hopefully I’ll get round to reading them all eventually.

Thinking about this, I decided to share a few of my favourite Farley Mowat quotes for this week’s quotables post:

21473_mowat_farley“Whenever and wherever men have engaged in the mindless slaughter of animals (including other men), they have often attempted to justify their acts by attributing the most vicious or revolting qualities to those they would destory; and the less reason there is for the slaughter, the greater the campaign for vilification.”

“Without a function, we cease to be. So, I will write till I die.”

“We’re under some gross misconception that we’re a good species, going somewhere important, and that at the last minute we’ll correct our errors and God will smile on us. It’s delusion.”

“I write every day. I’m always in the process of writing my last book, until the next one.”

“We have doomed the wolf not for what it is, but for what we deliberately and mistakenly perceive it to be –the mythologized epitome of a savage ruthless killer – which is, in reality, no more than a reflected image of ourself.”

One thought on “Thursday Quotables – Farley Mowat (May 8)

  1. Oh, how sad, I hadn’t heard that he’d passed away! I’ve only read a couple of his books, but very much admired him and what he stood for. I love the line about the wolves. Great selection for this week!

Leave a Reply

