Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Hollow City (Mar 7)

hollow childrenIt has been a while since I posted either of these memes, so I figured it was time to get back on board again. The book I have chosen this week is Hollow City by Ransom Riggs. It’s the follow up to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and I’m hoping to get it read soon. GoodReads has the following description:

The extraordinary journey that began in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children continues as Jacob Portman and his newfound friends journey to London the peculiar capital of the world. But in this war-torn city, hideous surprises lurk around every corner. Like its predecessor, this second novel in the Peculiar Children series blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reacting experience.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Hollow City:

We rowed out through the harbor, past bobbing boats weeping rust from their seams, past juries of silent seabirds roosting atop the barnacled remains of sunken docks, past fishermen who lowered their nets to stare frozenly as we slipped by, uncertain whether we were real or imagined; a procession of waterborne ghosts, or ghosts soon to be.

I like this long, descriptive opening sentence. The first book was very enjoyable and quite different, so I’m hoping this one will be at least as good as it.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Hollow City:

Watching over us all, her black eyes shining in the dark, was Miss Peregrine. Though damaged and diminished, she was still our protector.

Whatever happened to Miss Peregrine, it appears that she is still able to look after her ‘peculiar children’. Once I’ve finished some of the other books I’ve currently got on the go, I’ll hopefully get around to reading this one.

7 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Hollow City (Mar 7)

    • Thanks for dropping by. I really need to make time to read this one soon before I forget what happened in the first one.

    • I really enjoyed the first book. I’m hoping this one is just as good. There’s also a graphic novel out of the first one now, so I’ll need to look out for that as well.

    • I picked it up at WalMart with 40% off. I think I just happened to be there at the right time. Enjoy your weekend, too.

Leave a Reply

