Thursday Quotables – The Illustrated Man (March 6)

quotation-marks4Thursday quotables is hosted by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies. To take part Lisa shares the following:

If you’d like to participate, it’s really simple:

  • Write a Thursday Quotables post on your blog. Try to pick something from whatever you’re reading now. And please be sure to include a link back to Bookshelf Fantasies in your post (http://www.bookshelffantasies.com), if you’d be so kind!
  • Comment on this post with the link to your own Thursday Quotables post. Or… have a quote to share but not a blog post? Leave your quote in the comments!
  • Have fun!

One of the things I really want to do this year is to read as many of the Ray Bradbury books from my bookshelves that I still haven’t read. He was a prolific writer and I sometimes feel that I’ve only scratched the surface of his writing. His Fahrenheit 451 is one of my favourite reads and it is probably time for me to read it again, but there’s so much other stuff that I haven’t got to yet, so that may be a reread that I’ll have to put on hold for now. Currently I’m a little over half-way through The Illustrated Man, which is a great collection of short stories, linked together by the tattoos on the ‘illustrated man’ of the title. As always with Bradbury, this book is filled with many great quotes, but I’ve narrowed it down to the following:

illustrated man“To be asleep is to be dead. It is like death. So we dance, we dance so as not to be dead. We do not want that.”

“She wanted to get at the hate of them all, to pry at it and work at it until she found a little chink, and then pull out a pebble or a stone or a brick and then a part of the wall, and, once started, the whole edifice might roar down and be done away with.”

“Because sometimes the Church seems like those posed circus tableaus where the curtain lifts and men, white, zinc-oxide, talcum-powder statues, freeze to represent abstract Beauty. Very wonderful. But I hope there will always be room for me to dart about among the statues, don’t you, Father Stone?”

“We’re all fools,” said Clemens, “all the time. It’s just we’re a different kind each day. We think, I’m not a fool today. I’ve learned my lesson. I was a fool yesterday but not this morning. Then tomorrow we find out that, yes, we were a fool today too. I think the only way we can grow and get on in this world is to accept the fact we’re not perfect and live accordingly.”

This is just a small selection and I’m really enjoying reading this one. Next on my horizon, as far as Bradbury goes, is probably finishing off Zen in the Art of Writing, followed by either Death Is a Lonely Business or We’ll Always Have Paris.

2 thoughts on “Thursday Quotables – The Illustrated Man (March 6)

  1. Oh, I love Bradbury! I’m slowly working my way through a reread of Fahrenheit 451 (in between everything else I’m reading), and his writing is just so beautiful and amazing. Thanks for sharing such great lines this week!

Leave a Reply

