Sci-Fi Month – Intro Post

scifipostheader2Today sees the start of Sci-Fi Month, which is being hosted by Rinn @ Rinn Reads. When I first heard about this a couple of months ago, I knew I had to be a part of it. At the last count, there were over 50 bloggers, 25 authors, and 3 publishers signed up to be a part of it. If you are curious as to what it’s all about, click HERE for the schedule. I have nine posts included in this schedule, with at least one giveaway planned so far.

I wouldn’t describe myself as a huge sci-fi fan, but it is one of my favourite genres. I remember reading some really interesting sci-fi novels in high school, but I can’t remember what they were called. I also remember first watching Doctor Who when I was about 5 or 6. Jon Pertwee was my first doctor, so I guess that ages me a bit.

During this month I am going to share some thoughts on my favourite sci-fi stuff, including (of course), Doctor Who, Douglas Adams, Ray Bradbury, Scott Westerfeld, Star Wars, and Star Trek. I am also going to feature C.S. Lewis’s Cosmic Trilogy on the 50th anniversary of his death, which was, incidentally, the same day that JFK was assassinated.

I think what I enjoy the most about sci-fi, besides the variety of books and movies available, is the great imagination behind most of it. It can take you to some of the most imaginative places ever dreamt of and can describe the type of imaginative technology that may one day actually become a reality.

I look forward to sharing some of my thoughts during the next month and also exploring all the other blogs and websites that will be a part of this event. A big thank you has to go to Rinn, who has worked tirelessly to bring this event together. Hopefully it is something that will become an annual event,and I look forward to being part of it for many years to come.

Ray Bradbury, who more than most has sparked my love of sci-fi, once said the following:

Anything you dream is fiction, and anything you accomplish is science, the whole history of mankind is nothing but science fiction.

Let the month begin…

EDIT:

After I posted this, I noticed that Rinn had suggested we answer 5 questions, so that there would be feeling of togetherness for those taking part. So, here are my answers to the questions:

1. Tell us a little bit about yourselfI think I’ve covered that one fairly well in the above post.

2. How long have you been a fan of sci-fi? This probably goes back to my first viewing of Doctor Who in the early 1970’s, even if then I didn’t really know what sci-fi was.

3. Why do you like sci-fi and what is your favourite thing about it? I think I covered most of this, too, but I would add that what I like the most is the endless possibilities of imagination.

4. What are your favourite books/games/films/TV shows, etc., in the genre? Books – Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Ray Bradbury’s sci-fi, Daniel H. Wilson’s books (especially Robopocalypse), C.S. Lewis’s Cosmic Trilogy: games – I’m not a big gamer, so no real favourites here; films – the Star Wars series, Star TrekBlade Runner; the Matrix movies; TV shows – Doctor Who, the original Star Trek. There is so much to choose from that this realy only scratches the surface.

5. What do you have planned for Sci-Fi month? I have nine posts included in the schedule, but in addition some of my regular features will be inclined to sci-fi as well.

11 thoughts on “Sci-Fi Month – Intro Post

    • Good to hear that you’ll be back at uni. Are you starting your Masters program? Hope it all works out for you.

      As for it becoming an annual event, maybe it could be organised by a few of us who are taking part in it this year, which would take the burden off of one person. Thanks for all your hard work in getting the ball rolling and I’m sure now that it has come together that you must be extremely satisfied.

      • Yep, I will be moving abroad too so I won’t be able to take my books with me =(

        That’s what I was hoping – but I guess we’ll see how it goes this year! I really am, I’m so happy with all the wonderful responses and replies. I can’t wait to see the selection of posts that everyone has prepared!

      • Can I jump in on this thread and second the notion!? I’d love to see SFN become an annual event!! Ooh my dear stars, that would rock something fierce! I mean, ooh, boy! Seriously stoked to hear this is even being thought of!

  1. Hallo, Hallo William!

    I came over from the main schedule post on RR, but I’m also tracking the TW (tweats) on the TW Portal! 🙂 I might not know how to use TW but at least I sorted out how to read the feeds, or at least rather spy the ‘link’ amongst the tweat! Laughs. I like your streamlined blog, as I am noticing that my eyes sometimes struggle with darker backgrounds, so this is refreshing as its akin to my own! 🙂

    I’m going to be exploring the world of Doctor Who on Saturdays, as as time would have it, my first ‘episodes’ will be seen tonight right in time for my first posts on the subject! I have had the murmurings of Who enter my life at different intervals, but as far as actually watching the series!? IF SFN hadn’t come along when it did, I am not sure if I would even been embarking through the series now! Generally I am too enraptured with the BBC!! (Sherlock, Downton Abbey, Monarch of the Glen, As Time Goes By — yes, even a girl of my age appreciates the humour!)

    Ooh goody! Another sci-fi geek who digs Trek! I wonder!? Are you like me who boycotts the new versions and opts instead for Roddenberry’s!? I just cannot follow the new versions – it goes against my heart to do so, and I refuse to acknowledge it. Which is why I’ll be talking a bit about my love of Trek but limited to: TOS, TNG, DS9, Voyager, Enterprise, & of course leading up to Insurrection but no further! 🙂 I’ll have to duck back and see where your posts take us!

    Ooh, and a Stars Wars appreciator too! Wicked sweet! Rock on! 🙂

    I like how you put in historical facts with your posts, such as the tragic coincidences of the death of an author and of a beloved President!? I tend to do that myself,… either historical data or cross-relating interspersments of things I think fit with what I am speaking about! I did this a lot on my “Chronicles of Ave” review, but I do it second naturally throughout my blogging life because I tend to see interconnections everywhere I look! Do you find this as well!?

    I want to get into Ray Bradbury’s canon at some point, and I might be reading one of his this month if I can swing it! It happens to be the same selection one of my contributors was writing about recently for World Book Night: Fahrenheit 451. What would you suggest as the next 5 for me to read!? I am setting up my list for The Classics Club as I’m joining the group in January, and I’d love to take your suggestions and see if they fit my interests to include!?

    The quotation you shared is ingenious and bang-on accurate! Loved the sentiment and the encompassing message is one that makes you museful!

    I didn’t get the memo about the Questionaire but actually, when I cross-compare your answers and think on my own post today (Seventeen to Seven) I realise that I covered all my bases too, as the other questions on tv series & films I answer in two separate features this month! *Whew!* I felt bad because I didn’t know that as being done!

    I will definitely be returning to see your posts!! Rock on!

    • Hi Jorie. Thanks for stopping by and I’l do my best to answer some of your questions.

      Doctor Who has been a part of my life for almost ever. Which Doctor are you starting with? Since the beginning of summer I’ve been working through all the episodes from Doctors 9 to 11 in anticipation of the 50th anniversary special later this month. I’ve seen them all before, but it’s the first time for my two kids and it has been fun sharing this with them. We watched ‘A Good Man Goes to War’ and ‘Let’s Kill Hitler’ tonight. I hope you enjoy your intro to the Doctor.

      I am a big fan of the original Star Trek series, but I enjoyed the first of the new movies, although I haven’t seen the most recent one. I enjoy Star Wars too and am nervously looking forward to see what Disney does to the ongoing story. My son is a huge fan of the Clone Wars series and also has lots of the Star Wars Lego sets.

      I am a big trivia fan, so I’m always trying to find different facts to put in with my posts. The interesting thing about CS Lewis dying on the same day as JFK was assassinated is (so I’m told anyway) that a lot of the news media outlets were so focused on JFK that they never picked up on the CS Lewis story until much later, if at all. This quiet slipping away would have been something that Lewis would have appreciated.

      As far as Ray Bradbury goes, there is such diversity of writings available. ‘Fahrenheit 451’ is probably in my top ten reads of all time. ‘The Martian Chronicles’ is also a great read for Sci-Fi month. There are also some great short story collections available. One I recently finished was ‘The October Country’. I still have loads of his stuff to read. He was such a prolific writer.

      I enjoy being part of ‘The Classics Club’. It has opened up my reading horizons and has forced me to start reading some of the books that have been sitting gathering dust on my shelves. I’ll look forward to seeing your list when you have it finalized. I tried to go for a mixture of genres, but managed to put some Sci-Fi on there as well (Verne, Wells, and Huxley).

      Thanks again for stopping by and I’m looking forward to checking your posts during the month as well.

      • Your welcome, William!

        One of the nice blessings of these wicked sweet events is that we get to met new bloggers! 🙂 I had earmarked “The Martian Chronicles” to be included on my “tCC” list, so I was off to a good start! I haven’t heard of “October Country” so I will have to scout that out! Thanks for your help with Bradbury! I love the diversity of his prolific career because you can always find something to read! I think that is why I am drawn to writers who write a heap of books in series &/or produce a solid breadth of a bibliography throughout their lifetimes!

        I’m in the middle of composing my post about *Doctor Who*, but let’s just say a a preview — I am coming in at random angles based on an the grace of SFN Whovians helping me out with suggested viewing guides! I saw my first four hours (are they sixty minutes? hmm) of Who tonight, er, last night, actually!

        Ah, see I couldn’t go forward with Trek, nor will I go forward with SW. I have the lego series for SW too! 🙂 Those are seriously awesome ships to construct, as they are more like models! I have all of Series 1 except the X-Wing Fighter! 😦

        Do you ever think sometimes those things happen for a reason!? On how Lewis’s death passed without fanfare!? Sometimes I think there is a greater reason behind the events in history,… I agree. Given his personality and nature, I think he was smiling. He made a quiet exit and left on his own terms. I have trouble reading his narratives but I am endeared to Chronicles of Narnia Part I & III in motion picture!

        Huxley!? I have the other two on my list (of course!), but I do not recognise this author!? I think that is what I will find happen myself, doors opening into the windows of the past writers through the combined celebration of classic literature! I was a bit surprised just how much Verne & Wells wrote! :O

  2. I can only imagine what it was like to see the Pertwee era first run. I’m a bit jealous there.

    Looking forward to reading your posts — esp. those related to the C.S. Lewis trilogy. I’ve always enjoyed those.

    • I just wished I remembered more about some of the early shows I watched. Of course it was pre-VHS days, so I probably had to miss a few as well. Thanks for dropping by.

  3. Pingback: Double Feature:RSRGENREHAIKU CHALLENGE :Sci-Fi | an honest day or two

  4. Pingback: Announcement: Sci-Fi Month Schedule |Rinn Reads

Leave a Reply

