Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Out of the Silent Planet (Oct 25)

out of the silent planetMy choice of book for this week’s Friday meme combo is Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis. This is book one in his Cosmic Trilogy, the lesser known sci-fi trilogy he wrote in the late 30’s to mid 40’s. I will be reviewing this trilogy in November as part of Sci-Fi Month and hope to re-read them before then. GoodReads has the following description:

Out of the Silent Planet introduces Dr. Ransom and chronicles his abduction by a megalomaniacal physicist and his accomplice via space ship to the planet Malacandra. The two men are in need of a human sacrifice and Dr. Ransom would seem to fit the bill. Dr. Ransom escapes upon landing, though, and goes on the run, a stranger in a land that, like Jonathan Swift’s Lilliput, is enchanting in its difference from Earth and instructive in its similarity.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Out of the Silent Planet:

The last drops of the thundershower had hardly ceased falling when the Pedestrian stuffed his map into his pocket, settled his pack more comfortably on his tired shoulders, and stepped out from the shelter of a large chestnut tree into the middle of the road.

This doesn’t seem like a very exciting beginning, but there is the mystery of who this Pedestrian might be. I’ve read this one a couple of times before, so I know who he is and what he’s up to.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Out of the Silent Planet:

He never could remember much of that evening. There was more eating and drinking, there was continued coming and going of black forms, there were strange eyes luminous in the firelight; finally, there was sleep in some dark, apparently covered place.

It’s never good if you find yourself in a situation where you don’t remember much, for whatever reason. I am looking forward to reading this one again soon, as I am sure there are many parts of it that I can’t remember well.

8 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Out of the Silent Planet (Oct 25)

  1. I also have not heard of this trilogy. I read the Narnia books over and over and have been working on his non-fiction books, but I’ve never come across these. thanks for bringing them to my attention!

    Thanks for joining in on Book Beginnings on Fridays!

    Rose City Reader now has a Facebook page. I plan to post about new and favorite books, book events, and other bookish tidbits, as well as link to blog posts.

    I’d love a “Like” on the page, if you are so inclined: https://www.facebook.com/RoseCityReader

    And I am happy to Like you back if you have a blog or professional Facebook page, so please get me a link and I will find you.

    • The Cosmic Trilogy had a mixed reception when Lewis wrote them, but I like them. I think because he was not known for writing Sci-Fi, these books are often overlooked. He’s one of my favourite writers as well and I spend a lot of time looking for books by him or about him. Jack: A Life of C.S. Lewis, by George Sayer, has a fair bitof information about the the books in the Cosmic Trilogy and is worth checking out anyway, if you haven’t already.

      I just ‘liked’ your Facebook page. I only have this blog and my personal page on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/william.c.stanger).

      Thanks for dropping by and also for hosting Book Beginnings. Happy reading!

    • It is worth checking out. I’m planning a Sci-Fi Month post for this trilogy on 22 November, which will also be the 50th anniversary of C.S. Lewis’s death. I may host a giveaway of the Trilogy with that post as well, if I can find a decent priced one volume edition at the Book Depository. Thanks for dropping by and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Leave a Reply

