Top Ten Tuesday – Fall TBR List (Sept 17)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is: ‘Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List.’ I haven’t done a top ten post since July what with one thing and another, but I like this week’s topic because it will help me work out what I’d like to read between now and Christmas. Hopefully I’ll get around to reading most of these before then! Here they are, in no particular order:

DSCF1859

1.  The Illustrated Man (Ray Bradbury) – you can never read too much Bradbury! This one is on my Classics Club List and it’s one I’ve been wanting to read for a while. Hopefully I’ll read it sooner rather than later.

2. Stardust (Neil Gaiman) – I just got this one in the mail earlier this week. This is another one I’ve been looking forward to reading for a while. I’m sure it will be worth the wait.

3. The Napoleon of Notting Hill (G.K. Chesterton) – this book is also on my Classics Club list. I haven’t read anything by Chesterton for a few years and this one has been sitting on my shelf unread for too long.

4. A New Kind of Christianity (Brian D. McLaren) – I started reading this when I first bought it a few years ago, but put it down and for some reason or other never got back to it. I think it will be time to rectify that soon.

5. Silence (Shusaku Endo) – another book that has remained too long on my shelf unread. It is also on my Classics Club list.

6. God’s Favorite Place on Earth (Fran Viola) – I enjoy reading Frank Viola because he always challenges me in what he writes. His Pagan Christianity? forever changed the way I look at the Christian faith. So this is one I’m really looking forward to.

7. Tales From Mooninvalley (Tove Jansson) – I’ve been slowly working my way through the Moomin since I was reunited with this childhood favourite series of mine last year. They are an enjoyable distraction and usually are lots of fun.

8. Never Cry Wolf (Farley Mowat) – Farley Mowat is one of Canada’s greatest literary treasures. He is still going strong in his early 90s! This is one of his earlier books and is yet one more book that is on my Classics Club list.

9. Doctor Who: The Wheel of Ice (Stephen Baxter) – we’ve spent most of the summer watching episodes of Doctor Who in anticipation of the 50th Anniversary Special coming in November. I picked up this book on sale at bookoutlet.ca recently. I’ve been keeping a lookout for Doctor Who books as there are so many of them around at the moment. This book is based around the second Doctor and looks like it will be a fun read.

10. Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference? (Philip Yancey) – Philip Yancey is one of my favourite writers, but this is one of his books that I never got around to reading, even though I’ve had it for a few years. It looks like on that I’ll enjoy.

I’d really love to get all of these read by Christmas, but the reality is that other books will probably get in the way. I’d be happy with at least half of them if I can’t get through them all by then.

Leave a Reply

