Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Logan’s Run (Sept 6)

logans runIt’s been a few weeks since I posted this meme combo, but I guess I needed a break. The book I’ve chosen for my return is one I borrowed from the library today – Logan’s Run by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson.  I’ve seen the movie which is based on this book a few times, because I think it is one of two movies my high school owned, which they showed us at Christmas for a treat. The other movie was a racing movie, I think, but I can’t remember which one. Apparently there is a remake of this movie in the works, but I haven’t heard much about it. What I did hear is that the new version will be faithful to the book, where people have to die at 21. The original movie changed this age to 30. GoodReads has the following brief description for the book:

It’s the 23rd Century and at age 21… your life is over! Logan-6 has been trained to kill; born and bred from conception to be the best of the best. But his time is short and before his life ends he’s got one final mission: Find and destroy Sanctuary, a fabled haven for those that chose to defy the system. But when Logan meets and falls in love with Jessica, he begins to question the very system he swore to protect and soon they’re both running for their lives. When Last Day comes, will you lie down and die… or run!

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Logan’s Run:

Her hair was matted, her face streaked and swollen. One knee oozed slow blood; she’s cut it on a steel abutment.

A stitching pain lived in her side.

She ran.

I can’t remember much about the movie, so I’ve no idea if this is how it starts or no. Regardless of this, it looks like someone is having some problems here. I like this beginning. I need to find out more.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Logan’s Run:

Logan felt the sinewed fingers close on his windpipe.

He broke the chokehold and the man’s neck with one blow.

I guess you do what you have to do when faced with imminent pain or death. I’m hoping to get into this book over the weekend and am looking forward to being reacquainted with this story.

One thought on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Logan’s Run (Sept 6)

  1. I am pretty sure I have seen the movie for this one…. and to answer you, yes, my book has been a kinda fun read. Quite British in its’ phrasing and such, but a decent story.
    Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

