The Classics Spin #3

I joined The Classics Club a earlier this year with the intention of trying to read some of the classic books on my shelf that I so far haven’t got around to. I drew up a list of 50 books to read by the end of 2017 and have read three of them so far. Their website regularly hosts a variety of challenges, but I haven’t tried too many of them. I like the idea of the Classics Spin and I participated in #2, having to read Peter Pan to complete the challenge. I did this and my review can be found HERE.  The Classics Spin #3 is now up and running, so I have decided to sign up for it as well. The rules of the challenge are as follows:

  • Go to your blog.
  • Pick twenty books that you’ve got left to read from your Classics Club List.
  • Try to challenge yourself: list five you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)
  • Post that list, numbered 1-20, on your blog by next Monday (August 19).
  • Monday morning, we’ll announce a number from 1-20. Go to the list of twenty books you posted, and select the book that corresponds to the number we announce.
  • The challenge is to read that book by October 1, even if it’s an icky one you dread reading! (No fair not listing any scary ones!)

This sounds pretty straightforward, so here is my list (1-5 are ones I’m dreading/hesitant to read; 6-10 are ones I can’t wait to read; 11-15 are ones I’m neutral about; 16-20 are ones by authors I’ve read before):

  1. Cyrano de Bergerac – Edmond Rostand
  2. Doctor Faustus – Christopher Marlowe
  3. Siddhartha – Hermann Hesse
  4. Utopia – Thomas More
  5. Mayor of Casterbridge – Thomas Hardy
  6. The Illustrated Man – Ray Bradbury
  7. Never Cry Wolf – Farley Mowat
  8. Around the World in Eighty Days – Jules Verne
  9. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz – Frank L. Baum
  10. The War of the Worlds – H.G. Wells
  11. Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
  12. The Inspector General – Nikolai Gogol
  13. Turn of the Screw – Henry James
  14. The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
  15. Black Beauty – Anna Sewell
  16. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  17. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
  18. The Idiot – Fyodor Dostoevsky
  19. Burmese Days – George Orwell
  20. Kidnapped – Robert Louis Stevenson

Well, that’s my list and now I wait a week to see which number gets picked. It doesn’t really matter, because I’ve committed to reading them all in the next few years anyway, but it will be interesting to see if I get one that I’ve been trying to avoid. I’m also interested to see what other club members are listing for this challenge.

6 thoughts on “The Classics Spin #3

  1. Your list is wonderful! I would be very interested to see what you thought of “Utopia” if that was the number picked. (If #4 is picked, I’ll be reading “The Black Stallion Returns” by Walter Farley.) Mainly, of course, because of the movie “Ever After”: “Anyone who can quote Thomas More is well worth the effort.” I haven’t read it myself . . . yet 🙂

  2. I have read and very much enjoyed 8, 9, 11, and 16. SOme on your list I have on my TBR list and then some that I have never heard of. Great list! So glad that I came to see you!

    • I’d probably be happy reading any of the ones you mentioned. I know at some point that I’m going to have to read all of the titles on this list, but there are some that I don’t have the appetite for right now. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Oo you’ve got some toughies in there. I liked The Mayor of Casterbridge, and I loved The Idiot though found it a very challenging read. It was my first Dostoevsky though.

  4. Pingback: The Classics Spin #4 | Two weeks from everywhere

Leave a Reply

