Booking Through Thursday – Moving (July 25)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday poses the following questions:

My best friend is moving across country, heading back to the East Coast for the first time after years of living in California, and one of the things she’s lamented was the whole packing-the-books thing. Having moved a few years ago myself (whittling down my 3000-volume library to 2000-volumes and still ending up with something like 50 boxes of books), I sympathize.

So … the question is–what kind of moving experiences have you had with your books? (Or, just in general if you’ve got good Moving Day stories–and who doesn’t?) Did having to pack and move your books cause any changes in your book-collecting habits? Make you wish you had everything on an e-reader? Feel free to discuss! (grin)

I dread having to move house. We moved into our present house three years ago and it was just across town. I think between us we had over 50 boxes of books alone. In that time I have sorted through them and cleared out about 300 books, but I think that I probably replaced most of those already.

The worst move for us was moving from Scotland to Canada almost 20 years ago. I had to give away or sell most of my books. I was able to ship some, but it made more sense to only keep ones that were special. I still have some at my parents’ house in Scotland that I may bring over eventually. In the time here, though, I’ve managed to build up a decent library again.

I’ve never wished that I had all my books on an e-reader, though. Handy as it would be, there’s something satisfying about looking at our bookshelves and thinking about the stories behind each of the books sitting there.

Leave a Reply

