Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Doctor Who and the Three Doctors (July 5)

doctor who and the three doctorsThe Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special can’t come soon enough, but until it does I’ll have to content myself with old episodes and any Doctor Who books I can get my hands on. So, with this in mind, I have chosen Doctor Who and the Three Doctors by Terrance Dicks as my book of choice for this week’s Friday meme combo. GoodReads has the following brief description:

Time itself is in peril! The three Doctors are united against an old enemy from the distant past of Gallifrey…

Vital cosmic energy is draining into a black hole and the Time Lords are under siege. The Doctor is their only hope but, trapped in the TARDIS, he’s powerless. The only way out is to break the First Law of Time to let the Doctor help himself – literally…

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Doctor Who and the Three Doctors:

For an adventure that was to be one of the most astonishing of the Doctor’s very long life, it all began very quietly. It started, in fact, with a silvery-grey balloon, drifting peacefully out of the blue morning sky to land on the flat marshy land of an Essex bird sanctuary.

I’m guessing that there may be something ominous about the arrival of this balloon. I guess I’ll have to read it to find out.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

When Doctor Who Two ran into the laboratory, the Brigadier close behind him, the jelly-blob had Benton cornered, and was stretching out a menacing tentacle.

This doesn’t sound too good for Benton. I’ll hopefully read this one some time over the summer. I’m currently watching the only series featuring Doctor #9 (Christopher Eccleston) with my children, but we’ll have to put it on hold for a couple of weeks as our daughter goes to camp for two weeks tomorrow and doesn’t want us watching any more until she comes home. That might give me the chance to read this book, along with the one I featured a couple of weeks ago.

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Doctor Who and the Three Doctors (July 5)

  1. If you like the novel of the Three Doctors, I cannot recommend the original serial enough. If you’re on Netflix, I believe you can stream this four part story.

    I will warn you to lower your expectations based on the descriptions on the printed page. I listened to this one as an audio book a couple of years ago and Terrance Dicks really embellishes some things. The imagination has the unlimited budget that the television series does not.

    • Jon Pertwee was the first doctor I watched when I was about 5 or 6. I’ve been hoping to pick up some of the Jon Pertwee and Tom Baker series as they are the ones I remember the most. Thanks for the heads up on Netflix. I think we are going to try subscribing this winter.

Leave a Reply

