Booking Through Thursday – Patriotism (July 4)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday poses the following questions:

So, Fourth of July here in the USA … Do you ever read books that could be considered patriotic? Rousing stories of heroes? History? Brave countrymen & women doing bold things?

What would you recommend if somebody asked you for something patriotic–no matter what your country?

Be as specific or as general as you like?

I was born in Scotland and lived there for 28 years before moving to Canada in the mid-90’s. I now also hold Canadian citizenship, so have two countries I can be patriotic about. However, I’m not that patriotic, except when it comes to sports!

I enjoy historical books about both countries, trying to learn stuff about Scotland that I didn’t learn in school, or learning history about my adopted country that I never had the opportunity to learn. I also try to discover as many new (to me) Canadian authors, who I think often live in the shadow of some of the authors from our neighbours to the south.

I don’t really know what I’d recommend if someone asked me for something patriotic as I don’t really think in those terms anyway. My favourite Scottish writer is George Mackay Brown, whilst my favourite Canadian one is Ken McGoogan. I wouldn’t really describe what they write as patriotic, but I’d definitely recommend that people check their books out.

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Patriotism (July 4)

Leave a Reply

