Top Ten Tuesday – Debuts (May 28)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Tuesday Freebie (Anything you want! Top Ten Favorite Paranormal Creatures! Top Ten Books Set in Paris! Top Ten Books I Wish I Never Read! etc. etc.)’ So I have chosen to to my top ten debut books. Some of these are quite old, while others are fairly recent. I have read them all, though, and I have listed them in no particular order.

selected works of ts spivet1. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet – Reif Larsen. This is such a good debut book, very different from many I have read, but Larsen doesn’t seem to have had anything else published since, which is too bad.que

seraphina thumb2. Seraphina – Rachel Hartman. This tale of dragons was one of my favourite reads of 2012.  The sequel is out early next year and am waiting eagerly for its appearance. Maybe I’ll manage to get hold of an ARC.

light between oceans3. The Light Between Oceans – M.L. Stedman – This is another great debut I read last year. It is very original and also raises a lot of moral questions for the reader, especially ‘what would I have done in a similar situation’. I look forward to more from this author.

before i go to sleep4. Before I Go To Sleep – S.J. Watson. I just finished reading this great debut last night. I thought I had worked out where it was going to end up, but I was way off, which was fine with me, because it wasn’t a predictable ending at all. It’s well worth checking out.

harry potter and the philosophers stone5. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – J.K. Rowling. There’s not much I can say about this that hasn’t already been said. I loved the whole series and this one was a great start.

one day in the life of ivan denisovich6. One Day In the Life of Ivan Denisovich – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. This is the first Solzhenitsyn book I read and it was also the first he published. I have reread this one on a number of occasions and probably will revisit it a few times more. It is the story of one day in the life of a prisoner in a Russian gulag camp and I highly recommend it.

velvet elvis7. Velvet Elvis – Rob Bell. This is the debut from one of my favourite writers. He is often seen as being somewhat controversial, but I like his honesty and his approach, along with the fact that he doesn’t tell you what to think, but allows you to think things through for yourself.

martian chronicles8. The Martian Chronicles – Ray Bradbury. I enjoy the variety of Bradbury’s work. This classic is one of the ones I like the most, but I haven’t found one I didn’t like yet, either!

stranger9. The Stranger – Albert Camus. I was surprised by how much I really liked this one. I had to read The Plague for a course a few years ago and found it quite a slog. The Stranger was an easier read for me and in the end I found it hard to put down.

unlikely pilgrimage of harold fry10. The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry – Rachel Joyce. This is one I just read earlier this year and is another page turner that I found hard to stop reading. The author’s second book is due out in July and I’m looking forward to reading it as well.

Leave a Reply

