Booking Through Thursday – Childhood vs Adult (May 23)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following questions:

Have your reading habits changed since you were a child? (I mean, I’m assuming you have less time to read now, but …) Did you devour and absorb books when you were 10 and only just lightly read them now? Did you re-read frequently as a child but now only read new books? How about types of books? Do you find yourself still attracted to the kinds of books you read when you were a kid?

I know that I enjoyed reading when I was a child, but I also know that my reading habits have changed, although probably not that much. These days I sometimes have a hard time recalling everything I’ve read, so I sometimes have to take notes and keep a note of what I have been reading. I still like to pretty much devour books, so not too much has changed there!

The types of books I read have changed, as would be expected. One’s tastes in many things in life change as the years go on, so why would reading tastes not change also. Having said this, however, my favourite book is still the same one today as it was when I was 10 years old – J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit.

I can’t recall whether or not I re-read frequently when I was a child. I know that I enjoyed a lot of Roald Dahl stuff and am assuming that I probably re-read a few of those. I also remember really enjoying the Narnia books. Along with The Hobbit, I probably re-read them at some point too.

On the whole, I probably read as much now as I did then, but try not to take my reading times for granted. I don’t watch as much TV now as I did then, so this probably explains why I am able to read as much.

Leave a Reply

