Booking Through Thursday – Returns (May 16)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following questions:

What book(s) do you find yourself going back to? Beloved children’s classics? Favorites from college? Something that touched you and just makes you long to visit?

(Because, doesn’t everybody have at least one book they would like to curl up with, even if they don’t make a habit of rereading books? Even if they maybe don’t even have the time to visit and just think back longingly?)

This is a fairly easy question for me to answer. There are quite a few books that I like to return to from time to time, but the one that I go back to most frequently is The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. I read it at least once every couple of years or so. It is the book I credit the most with encouraging my love of reading. It is close to 40 years since I read it first and my first recollections of it are reading it at school along with the rest of my class and it being read by Bernard Cribbins on the BBC show Jackanory. I just loved the story from that first moment on. In recent years I encouraged my wife to read it, and I also bought copies for my two children, who have enjoyed reading it as well. I haven’t seen the recent movie adaptation and I’m not sure that I will bother with it at this point.

Other books I like to return to from time to time are Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings books, C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia books, and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. As well as these, I also try to read through The Bible every few years.

7 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Returns (May 16)

    • what I love about rereading certain books is rediscovering those small details that have slipped my mind. Thanks for dropping by.

  1. Ooh, the Chronicles of Narnia is one that I would like to re-read. I don’t re-read much myself unless its something that has stayed with me and changed me in some way.

    • I’ve been rereading the Chronicles of Narnia by reading them to my son for the first time. They are books that I never tire of anyway. Thanks for visiting and happy reading.

Leave a Reply

