The Classics Spin #2

I joined The Classics Club a couple of months ago with the intention of trying to read some of the classic books on my shelf that I so far haven’t got around to. I drew up a list of 50 books to read by the end of 2017 and have read two of them so far. Their website regularly hosts a variety of challenges, but up until now I haven’t tried any of those. I like the latest one, The Classics Spin #2, and have decided to give it a try. The rules of the challenge are as follows:

At your blog, by next Monday, May 20, list your choice of any twenty books you’ve left to read from your Classics Club list – in a separate post.

This is your Spin List. You have to read one of these twenty books in May & June. (Details follow.) So, try to challenge yourself. For example, you could list five Classics Club books you are dreading/hesitant to read, five you can’t WAIT to read, five you are neutral about, and five free choice (favorite author, rereads, ancients — whatever you choose.)

Next Monday, we’ll post a number from 1 through 20. The challenge is to read whatever book falls under that number on your Spin List, by July 1. We’ll have a check in post for July, to see who made it the whole way and finished the spin book.

So, here is my list of twenty (1-5 are ones I’m dreading/hesitant to read; 6-10 are ones I can’t wait to read; 11-15 are ones I’m neutral about; 16-20 are ones by authors I’ve read before):

  1. Siddhartha – Hermann Hesse
  2. Doctor Faustus – Christopher Marlowe
  3. Utopia – Thomas More
  4. Turn of the Screw – Henry James
  5. Madame Bovary – Gustav Flaubert
  6. Peter Pan – J.M. Barrie
  7. Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Jules Verne
  8. The Time Machine – H.G. Wells
  9. Islands in the Stream – Ernest Hemingway
  10. Three Sisters – Anton Chekhov
  11. Anne of Green Gables – L.M. Montgomery
  12. The Princess and the Goblin – George MacDonald
  13. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen
  14. The Scarlet Letter – Nathaniel Hawthorne
  15. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  16. The Illustrated Man – Ray Bradbury
  17. Silence – Shusaku Endo
  18. The Lost World – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  19. Never Cry Wolf – Farley Mowat
  20. The Napoleon of Notting Hill – G.K. Chesterton

I’ll be interested to see what number is drawn next week and I look forward to seeing what everyone else is listing for this challenge.

7 thoughts on “The Classics Spin #2

  1. Another great list! Siddhartha is fantastic, as is Islands in the Stream (think you misspelled both, though). I liked Sense and Sensibility, though it wasn’t my favorite Austen. Jane Eyre is amazing! I think you’re going to end up with a good one, no matter where the Spin lands! Good luck!

    • Thanks. I must have been in a hurry or in need of another coffee when I typed it up. I’ve corrected them now, but curiously I had typed them correctly in my bigger list. Thanks for dropping by.

  2. I just finished Anne of Green Gables 🙂 Wonderful story, wonderful series!! Jane Eyre is a fantastic book!! I read the The Scarlet Letter when I was in high school…I included it on my CC list cause I think it deserves a re-read and perhaps I’ll appreciate it more as an adult, I don’t know. Good luck!! 😀

  3. Pingback: The Classics Spin #3 | Two weeks from everywhere

  4. Pingback: The Classics Spin #4 | Two weeks from everywhere

Leave a Reply

