Booking Through Thursday – Sporting (April 25)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following questions:

1. Do you read books about sports?

I enjoy reading books about sports and read a lot of football (soccer) books. As well as reading biographies of some of my favourite players, there are a number of club history books and other books I have read. The most recent football book I read was More Than Just a Game: Soccer vs. Apartheid: The Most Important Soccer Story Ever Told by Chuck Korr and Marvin Close. It told the story of how football became a big part of life on Robben Island, the notorious South African prison where Nelson Mandela was imprisoned. Other good books I’ve read in recent years include Football Against the Enemy (Simon Kuper) and How Soccer Explains the World: An Unlikely Theory of Globalization (Franklin Foer).

One of my most prized sports books is an autographed copy of cricketer Ian Botham’s autobiography. I also enjoy reading books about hockey and any kind of sports almanac.

2. How about AT sporting events? (Kid’s soccer practice?)

Our daughter is involved in competitive swimming, so I always make sure I have a book with me if I’m at one of her swim competitions, because they are usually over the course of 2 or 3 days and there can be a long time between her swims. Of course I make sure I’m no reading at the moment she is swimming!

Leave a Reply

