Top Ten Tuesday – More or Less (April 23)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like MORE/LESS Than I Did’. This could be more difficult than it sounds, but I’ll try to find five of each if I can.

I’ll start with five I liked LESS than I thought I would:

1. Twilight (Stephenie Meyer) – with all the hype surrounding this series, I was happy when I picked up all four for a dollar each at a local thrift store. I only read the first one and, although I didn’t dislike it, I didn’t really like it as much as I thought I would. I’m not ruling out reading the other books, but I don’t see it happening any time soon.

2. Walden (Henry David Thoreau) – I’m currently about two-thirds of the way through this and am not really enjoying it that much. I thought I’d like it, but am just hoping to finish it so I can review it as part of my 50 classics to read over the next five years. I’m just not connecting with it in the way I thought I would.

3. The Hunchback of Notre Dame (Victor Hugo) – being familiar with the story, I thought I’d enjoy reading this book, but I was wrong. I couldn’t finish it. I’m sorry to say that I just found it too boring to continue with.

4. Paradise Lost (John Milton) – I had to read this for a course I took a couple of years ago. I thought I might like it, but I ended up close to hating it. I can’t see me ever reading it again.

5. Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures (Vincent Lam) – after hearing so many good things about this book, I really wanted to read it. I tried to like it, but in the end I had to put it down, disappointed because I really wanted to like it.

Now for five I liked MORE than I thought I would:

1. The Book Thief  (Markus Zusak) – I read this to find out what all the hype was about, expecting to enjoy it a little. I enjoyed it a lot and found it hard to put down. It’s a very moving and well-written book that I know I will have to read again.

2. 11/22/63 (Stephen King) – I expected to enjoy this book, but not as much as I did. It’s probably the best Stephen King book I ever read and I’ve read quite a few.

3. The Light Between Oceans (M.L. Stedman) – I requested an ARC of this as it looked fairly interesting. It turned out to be one of my favourite reads of 2012.

4. Clockwork Angels: The Novel (Kevin J. Anderson, Neil Peart) – I bought this mainly because I’m a big Rush fan. It turned out to be another of my top 2012 reads and was one I found difficult to put down.

5. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter (Seth Grahame-Smith) – I bought this book more out of curiosity than anything else. I found it to be so different in a good way and loved it way more than I thought possible.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – More or Less (April 23)

    • Yeah, I thought i’d worked out the ending of the King one as well, but it didn’t end up where I thought it would at all. Thanks for dropping by and happy reading.

Leave a Reply

