Booking Through Thursday – Language (April 18)

btt2This week Booking Through Thursday asks the following:

I saw a Latin edition of “The Hobbit” last time I was at the bookstore… Do you read any foreign languages? Do you ENJOY reading in other languages?

I don’t read books in any language other than English. I studied German in high school and got to the point where I could usually work out what the text said and was able to hold very basic conversations in German. However, that is over 30 years ago now and, although I haven’t forgotten everything, I wouldn’t be able to understand much German without a dictionary or phrase book at hand. Even then I’d be too slow to keep up. It’s a shame, because it was a subject at school that I enjoyed.

Ironically, my school (Kirkwall Grammar School) gave you the choice of studying either French or German. I chose German, not knowing then that one day I’d move to Canada, where a knowledge of French would be a lot handier than knowing German. That’s hindsight for you! Of course, there’s nothing really stopping me from signing up for some basic French classes.

3 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Language (April 18)

  1. Yeah, sometimes those school choices don’t really pay off. I had Latin, later joined by Spanish, and I couldn’t really say the one helped with the other. Now Latin is something I speak of with disdain, and my Spanish is back to real, real basics of reading. Maybe it would’ve been different with Russian or French (which were the two other possibilities I had back then), who knows?
    Thanks for stepping by and sharing your answer. =)

  2. Well, as an English speaker, you have probably the biggest pool of books to choose from so it’s understandable that you don’t read in other languages.

    As for studying languages, I don’t regret the ones I learned (German, French and Danish) because I had no choice in the matter: it was those languages or none at all. In hindsight, I wish that when I was studying English at university I had taken Latin as a minor instead of mass communication studies.

Leave a Reply

