Top Ten Tuesday – Reread (April 16)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — pick a past topic you missed or one you want to revisit!’ I have chosen one I missed out on before – ‘Top Ten Books I Want To Reread’. Although there are books, like The Hobbit and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, that I reread on a regular basis, I’ll leave them off this list, because it’s a given (for me anyway) that I will read them again! So, here goes:

hunger games1. The Hunger Games trilogy (Suzanne Collins) – with the second movie coming out later this year, I need to reread these because there’s so much that I can’t remember as it’s a while since I read them. The books are always better than the movie anyway!

harry potter2. The Harry Potter books (J.K. Rowling) – I’ve only ever read these books once and the last time was before the seventh book came out. I’ve probably watched the movies more, but it’s probably time that I reread the series again. I’m not sure when that will happen, though.

pagan christianity3. Pagan Christianity? (Frank Viola and George Barna) – this is a book I always recommend for people to read, but the truth is I’ve only read it all the way through once. It is a great book, bit I need to read it again soon to remind myself why it is such a great book.

light between oceans4. The Light Between Oceans (M.L. Stedman) – this debut novel was one of my favourite books of 2012. There was so much about it that I enjoyed, from the characters to the setting, as well as it being such a great story. It also brought up questions of what would I have done in that situation, as well as what was the morally right thing to do. I know I’ll have to reread it some time, the only question is when.

serve god save the planet5. Serve God, Save the Planet (J. Matthew Sleeth) – this was one of the books that helped me in my decision to become a vegetarian. It also challenged me in many other areas of my life. I need to read it again a I’ve probably let some of those things slip again. I have stuck to my vegetarianism, though.

sacred way6. The Sacred Way (Tony Jones) – this is a great book for exploring ancient spiritual practices that can become a helpful part of your everyday life. It’s full of great ideas and resources, some of which I tried, some that I didn’t. I need to reread it again to bring some of these ideas back to my mind. It’s a great read as well.

fatal passage7. Fatal Passage (Ken McGoogan) – this is one of the best non-fiction books I’ve ever read, but I’ve only read it once. It is the story of John Rae, one of the greatest Arctic explorers ever, but who never really got the recognition he deserved during his life. This book attempts to put some of the wrongs right and is well worth the read. I will get back to it one day.

cosmic trilogy8. The Cosmic Trilogy (C.S. Lewis) – it’s a while since I read these books, but I think they are among the most under-rated of his works of fiction. I have them in a one volume edition and one of these years I’ll take them on holiday with me and enjoy them again.

guernsey literary and potato peel pie society9. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows) – I remember really enjoying reading this book when it first came out. I always thought that I’d like to read it again, but that hasn’t happened yet, but I hope it will one day.

selected works of ts spivet10. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet (Reif Larsen) – this is another one that I really enjoyed not long after it came out. It was quite different from a lot of books I had read in a fresh way that made it really enjoyable. I’ll get back to it one day soon and I know I’ll enjoy it again.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Reread (April 16)

  1. I need to reread The Hunger Games trilogy sometime as well. I don’t know if you’ve seen the new trailer for Catching Fire, but it looks like the movie actually has the potential to be better than the book. But I guess we’ll see!

    • Yeah, I saw the trailer yesterday and have to admit it looked pretty good. I enjoyed the first movie and it seemed to keep fairly true to the book, so i’m hoping this one does the same. Thanks for dropping by.

    • The only one I’ve reread is the first book, but that was over 5 years ago. I think I might try to read the complete trilogy again this summer. Thanks for visiting.

  2. I would LOOOOVE to reread the Harry Potter books. Especially the last one (but I would HAVE to read the first six before I read the last one – I have to read in order) because I feel like I rushed through it. Fun post! xo

    • I can’t read a series out of order either. My daughter has a friend who always reads her series out of order, but that would drive me crazy. Thanks for dropping by and happy reading.

    • The Light Between Oceans was a big surprise for me. I got a galley of it on a whim from NetGalley, because I liked the look of it. I knew nothing about it at all. But I’m glad I tried it, because it was worth it. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

