Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger (April 9)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Favorite Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger’. I started my first blog, Once Upon A Time In The North, in May 2005, before moving to my current one in May 2007. So my top ten this week will have to be books I first read mover 8 years ago.

1. The Hobbit (J.R.R. Tolkien) – as I’ve written many times before, this is my favourite book of all time, so it finds its way on to many of my top ten list. It’s over 35 years ago that I read this one for the first time and I have no idea how many times I’ve read it since, as I’ve lost count.

2. The Lord of the Rings (J.R.R. Tolkien) – I probably read these books for the first time in the early to mid 80’s. Although I haven’t read them as many times as The Hobbit, I still have lost count of exactly how many times.

3. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Roald Dahl) – I was probably about ten when I read this for the first time. I remember buying a copy at my school and reading it quite a few times. It’s still one of my favourite stories.

4. The Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis) – it’s probably close to 40 years since I read these books for the first time. I think that they were probably originally read to me by my parents. They continue to be favourites and I have been reading them to my son recently.

5. The Old Man and the Sea (Ernest Hemingway) – I had to read this for English in high school and instantly loved it. I go back and read it again every few years.

6. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoevsky) – in the late 90’s I went through a period of buying and reading Russian classics. I read quite a few of them, but some of them still remain unread on my shelf. This one was the best of those that I read at the time and I really should get back to it some time, or even get some of the others read.

7. Finn Family Moomintroll (Tove Jansson) – I loved reading the Moomin books in the 70’s. This one was my favourite, but I really enjoyed them all. I just bought all 8 of the re-released Square Fish versions in the past year and finished reading this one again today. I still enjoy reading them and am trying to persuade my kids to read them now.

8. One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich (Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn) – this is another of the Russian classics I picked up in the late 90’s. I’ve gone back and read it on a few occasions since. It is a very compelling, but short, read.

9. 1984 (George Orwell) – this is another book that I had to read for high school English. It had quite an impression on me at the time and still remains a favourite.

10. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy (Douglas Adams) – I probably read this for the first time in the early 80’s. I have loved it ever since and like to go back to it every now and again.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I Read Before I Was A Blogger (April 9)

  1. Roald Dahl is amazing! I read every single book of his that my school library had when I was younger. I definitely just had flashbacks to elementary school, lol.

    • Yes, he is. My daughter bought all his books in recent years, so I was able to read a lot of them again. You can never be too old to read Roald Dahl!

  2. The Hitchhiker’s Guide is the only book on your list I’ve read, but most of the other’s are on my book bucket list. It’s good to know they held up well enough for rereads through out the years, especially the russian classics.

Leave a Reply

