Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Never Cry Wolf (April 5)

never cry wolf largeI have chosen one of the reads from my list of 50 for The Classics Club for this week’s Friday meme combo. The chosen book is Never Cry Wolf by Farley Mowat. I have read a few of Mowat’s books before, but never this one. Hopefully I’ll get around to reading it soon. GoodReads gives the following brief description:

More than a half-century ago the naturalist Farley Mowat to investigate why wolves were killing arctic caribou. Mowat’s account of the summer he lived in the frozen tundra alone — studying the wolf population and developing a deep affection for the wolves (who were of no threat to caribou or man) — is today celebrated as a classic of nature writing, at once a tale of remarkable adventures and indelible record of myths and magic of wolves.

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Never Cry Wolf:

It is a long way in time from the bathroom of my Grandmother Mowat’s house in Oakville, Ontario, to the bottom of a wolf den in the Barren Lands of central Keewatin, and I have no intention of retracing the entire road which lies between. Nevertheless, there must be a beginning to any tale; and the story of my sojourn amongst the wolves begins properly in Granny’s bathroom.

I really enjoy reading Farley Mowat and look forward to reading this one. This beginning has already got me fascinated, especially with it starting in the bathroom!

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Never Cry Wolf:

I tried counting sheep, but they kept turning into wolves, leaving me more wakeful than ever. Finally, when some red-backed mice who lived under the floor began to produce noises which were realistic approximations of the sounds a wolf might make if he were snuffling at the door, I gave up all idea of sleep, lit Mike’s oil lantern, and resigned myself to waiting for the dawn.

Counting sheep never works for me, either, and any weird nocturnal noise has me reaching quickly for the bedside lamp, so I can identify readily with this excerpt.

Farley Mowat is probably my favourite Canadian writer. He’ll be 92 next month, but still seems to be going strong. I’ve read a fair number of his books, but still have quite a few to go. The first book of his I read was The Farfarers. After reading that one I was hooked and have been gradually building a collection of his books ever since.

5 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Never Cry Wolf (April 5)

  1. Love your quotes! The first one is hilarious, and the second one has really got me intrigued. This is not my usual type of read, but this book sounds fascinating! Thanks for sharing!! : )

Leave a Reply

