Top Ten Tuesday – Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread (March 19)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread’. This is probably one of my bad habits. I buy more books than I read, always convincing myself that I’ll eventually get around to reading them. Here are ten of the many I have, listed in the hope that this list will guilt me in getting around to reading them:

in the first circle1. In The First Circle (Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn) – this is the year I am finally going to tackle this book! I bought this with good intentions almost four years ago. I started it once, but got bogged down.

a generous orthodoxy2. A Generous Orthodoxy (Brian McLaren) – I went through a phase of reading almost everything McLaren has written, but never managed to get this one started.

divergent3. Divergent (Veronica Roth) – everybody else was reading it, but since I bought it last year it remains unread on my shelf, alongside Insurgent! Maybe I’ll read them both along with the third book when it comes out later this year.

silence4. Silence (Shusaku Endo) – I bought this one over four years ago and for some reason I just keep putting it off. I have read other stuff written by Endo and this is reputedly his best work, so I imagine I’d really enjoy it.

friday night lights5. Friday Night Lights: A Town, a Team, and a Dream (H.G. Bissinger) – the movie of this book is one of my favourite sports movies, so I figured I should really read the book as well. So far it sits unread on the shelf.

last crossing6. The Last Crossing (Guy Vanderhaeghe) – this is by another author whose books I collected and read over the course of about 6 months a few years ago. For some reason this is the only one of his books that I never got around to.

idiot7. The Idiot (Fyodor Dostoevsky) – I bought this immediately after reading Crime and Punishment, but I just couldn’t get into it. I’d like to read it eventually, though, as I’m sure it’s one that I’d enjoy.

no 1 ladies detective agency8. The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency (Alexander McCall Smith) – for some reason I got the notion that I’d like to read the series of which this book is the first one. So I bought this book, followed by the next nine in the series. Fortunately I got most of them on sale or second-hand, because I haven’t even managed to get the first one read yet!

thistle and the rose9. The Thistle and the Rose: Six Centuries of Love and Hate Between the Scots and the English (Allan Massie) – one of my friends recommended this to me as a must read after I read How the Scots Invented the Modern World by Arthur Herman. Much ton my chagrin I have never managed to get beyond the introduction.

russka10. Russka: The Novel of Russia (Edward Rutherfurd) – after reading Rutherfurd’s London, I had to by this one, but I have so far been unable to get this one read. I have also added Sarum to my shelf, sitting unread beside this one. Rutherfurd’s books are so large, but that’s a pretty feeble excuse for leaving them where they are.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread (March 19)

  1. Okay, so someone who enjoys Crime and Punishment might not enjoy The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith, or maybe I’m wrong about that. But the first is FORTE and the second is piano, in musical terms. You just have to be in the right mood for each in its turn, I think.

  2. Oh my god! Thank you for reminding me that The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency exists. I just put it on my wishlist! The BBC and HBO turned this into a TV show. There’s only seven episodes, but they are really good and absolutely worth checking out. I also posted a TTT, if you want to check it out you can find it here: wordshipping.blogspot.ca.

    Katharina

Leave a Reply

