Booking Through Thursday – Mood Reading

Booking Through ThursdayThis week Booking Through Thursday asks the following:

Does your current mood affect your reading? Affect your choices? I know there are plenty of books I enjoy, but only if I’m in a particular kind of mood–or books that can lift me out of a bad mood without fail. Surely I’m not alone?

I think that to some extent my mood does affect my reading. I always have at least half a dozen books on the go at any one time because of this. My currently reading list at GoodReads has 16 books on it. There are some there that I’d definitely have to be in the right mood to get back to, if I ever get back to them again.

The time of year probably affects some of my reading choices as well. In the summer time I tend to read lighter stuff, whereas if I’m going to read something heavier it is always almost likely to be in the winter months. One book that always cheers me up is The Hobbit, and I’ve lost count of the times that I have read it.

Overall, though, it would probably be fairer to say that my reading affects my mood, rather than the mood affecting my reading. Sometime I don’t really notice, because I just enjoy reading too much anyway!

2 thoughts on “Booking Through Thursday – Mood Reading

  1. Pingback: Reading time….. | Zara ~ a writing story

Leave a Reply

