Top Ten Tuesday – Spring 2013 TBR List (March 12)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Books At The TOP Of My Spring 2013 TBR list’. My TBR list continues to grow and I know I’ll never run out of books to read for a while, if ever! However, there are some more than others that I’d really like to get to first, so this list should be easy to come up with.

what we talk about when we talk about god1. What We Talk About When We Talk About God – Rob Bell. I’ll hopefully be buying this later on this week. When I do, I know I’ll have to get into it right away. It’s been a couple of years since Love Wins, and I’m hoping this one is every bit as good.

wednesday daughters2. The Wednesday Daughters – Meg Waite Clayton. This is a follow up to The Wednesday Sisters, which came out in 2008. I got a free review copy of that one from LibraryThing, which I really enjoyed, even though it’s not the kind of book I thought I’d enjoy. The new one is out in July, but I was fortunate enough to get a galley from NetGalley last week. I’ll probably get it started after the Rob Bell one.

cross the line3. Cross the Line – Jack Paterson. I don’t know much about this book, but I’m hosting it on tour for Partners In Crime Tours on April 10. All I know is that it’s a thriller that is set in the world of the NFL. I liked the look of it, so I thought I’d offer to host it. I’ll also have a free e-book copy to give away in connection with this.

illustrated man4. The Illustrated Man – Ray Bradbury. I haven’t read any Bradbury for a while and it’s about time that I did again. This one is also on my list of 50 classics to read in the next 5 years, for The Classic Club, which I recently joined.

journey to the centre of the earth5. Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Jules Verne. Even though I know the story, I have never read this book. This is another book that is on my list of 50 for The Classic Club.

eragon6. Eragon – Christopher Paolini. This is the first book in the Inheritance series. I’ve had the first three books in this series on my shelf for a while and I think it’s about time I got this series started.

divergent7. Divergent – Veronica Roth. This is another series I’d like to get started, especially with the third book coming out some time this year it would be good to get the oter two read first.

interrogation of silence8. Interrogation of Silence: The Writings of George Mackay Brown – Rowena Murray & Brian Murray. I got this book for Christmas and have been waiting for the right time to get it started. GMB was one of the finest writers to come from Orkney, where I grew up, and I’m looking forward to reading more about him in this recent publication.

in the first circle9. In The First Circle – Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn. This book has been on my TBR list for a long time. I think I may be ready to read it yet. I keep shying away from it for a variety of reasons, but I know I’ll enjoy it once I get into it.

last eyewitness10. The Last Eyewitness: The Final Week – Chris Seay & David Capes. Of all the books on this list, I’m pretty sure this is one that I’ll definitely get read this Spring. This is a book that I’ve read every Holy Week for at least the past 4 years. It always gives me focus in the lead-up to Easter, so I’m hoping that will again be the case this year.

Hopefully I’ll manage to get at least half of these read in the next two or three months. It would be great if I got them all read, but I’ll wait and see what happens. I like the variety of choices I’ve given myself anyway.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Spring 2013 TBR List (March 12)

Leave a Reply

