Top Ten Tuesday – Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List (February 26)

TTT3WTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week a different topic is posted inviting the participants to come up with a list of ten things to do with the topic.

This week’s topic is ‘Top Ten Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List’ (basically an auto-buy list is no questions asked..you love this author so much that no matter what they wrote next you’d buy regardless of genre or subject matter). This is hard as a lot of my favourite authors are dead, but I’ll see what I can come up with.

1. J.K. Rowling – I actually enjoyed The Casual Vacancy and am looking forward to what she comes up with next.

2. Neil Gaiman – I haven’t read everything he has written, but I have liked what I have read enough to know that whatever he releases next will be on my must buy list.

3. Rob Bell – I own most of the books he has written and always enjoy the buzz that his latest book always creates. I just like his approach to things and usually find myself agreeing with most of what he writes.

4. Ken McGoogan – he is one of my favourite non-fiction authors. Ever since I read Fatal Passage I’ve tried to keep up with his latest releases.

5. Frank Viola – Pagan Christianity?, which he co-wrote with George Barna, had a huge impact on my life and the way I look at things. I try to keep up with his blog and usually eagerly await his next book release.

6. Kazuo Ishiguro – there are usually large gaps between his book releases, but they are worth the wait.

7. Scott Westerfeld – I loved his Leviathan trilogy and am catching up with most of his other stuff, but I’ll definitely buy whatever he comes up with next.

8. M.L. Stedman – her only book so far, The Light Between Oceans, was one of my favourite 2012 reads. I look forward to more from her and, hopefully, soon.

9. Stephen King – I have only recently returned to reading Stephen King again, but after reading 11/22/63 and re-reading some of his older stuff I realize that I’ve missed out on so much. He’s back on my must buy list again!

10. Patrick deWitt – The Sisters Brothers was an awesome book, but I haven’t read his other novel, Ablutions, yet. However, I’ll definitely buy whatever he releases next.

That wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. There are probably some others I’ll think of after I’ve finished this, but that’s OK too!

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Authors That I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List (February 26)

  1. Hey, I like Ishiguro, too. I’ve only read An Artist of the Floating World, but have Remains of the Day and A Pale View of Hills on my shelves waiting. 🙂

    • I read a lot of King in my teen years – I think I wanted to be scared! For some reason I stopped reading him, but he is so much more than horror, which is why I think I went back to reading him again. Thanks for dropping by, and I’ll need to check out Carl Hiaasen (I think my daughter has read some of his YA stuff – I know she has at least got Hoot on her shelf).

  2. Good list! I’ve only read three of these to my knowledge. Of course, I forget author names fairly often. Definitely going to add some of these to my reading list.

Leave a Reply

