Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Black Feathers (February 22)

black feathers largeFor this week’s Friday meme combo post I have chosen Black Feathers by Joseph D’Lacey. I just received an ARC of this book, due out in April, from NetGalley. I’ve never read anything by D’Lacey before, but have heard good things about him. So I thought I’d give this one a try. It is volume 1 of The Black Dawn and hopefully I’ll enjoy it enough to go on to read the rest of the series. The following short description comes from the Angry Robot website:

It is the Black Dawn, a time of environmental apocalypse, the earth wracked and dying.

It is the Bright Day, a time long generations hence, when a peace has descended across the world.

In each era, a child shall be chosen. Their task is to find a dark messiah known only as the Crowman. But is he our saviour – or the final incarnation of evil?

Now for this week’s excerpts:

book beginningsBook Beginnings is hosted by Gilion at Rose City Reader, who invites anyone to join in, saying: ‘Please join me every Friday to share the first sentence (or so) of the book you are reading, along with your initial thoughts about the sentence, impressions of the book, or anything else the opener inspires.  Please remember to include the title of the book and the author. Leave a link to your post.  If you don’t have a blog, but want to participate, please leave a comment with your Book Beginning.’

The beginning of Black Feathers:

When the final days came, it was said that Satan walked the earth in the guise of a crow. Those who feared him called him Scarecrow or sometimes Black Jack. I know him as the Crowman.

I speak for him.

I haven’t read anything like this for a long time, so I’m looking forward to this one.

Friday 56The Friday 56 is a book meme hosted by Freda’s Voice and the rules are as follows:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56.
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it) that grabs you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url.

It’s that simple.

From page 56 of Black Feathers:

“It’s a bird. A crow. And it’s so big that its wings stretch all the way across the sky. It blocks out all the light and I know, deep down in my guts, that it’s going to be night-time forever. It’s like this crow has flown down out of space with his claws all stretched out, ready to…”

Maybe I don’t know what it’s ready to do. I’ll find out soon enough, hopefully, as I want to start this one soon.

3 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56 – Black Feathers (February 22)

  1. Pingback: A book review: Black Feathers | A wanderer in red shoes

Leave a Reply

